David Lappin has just played his last hand here in the Main Event and there was a touch of controversy about the exit hand.
He has been short for some time and made a move to double up, jamming his shortish stack into the middle.
The action folded round to the cut-off, but meanwhile the loquacious Marek Tatar on the button was talking about a previous hand and put a couple of chips over the line, pulling them back as he finished his story. David Lappin later told us he said “call, it’s a call.”
When the cut-off folded, Lappin asked for a ruling on whether Tatar’s actions bound him to call – disputed by Tatar.
Tournament Director Gerrard Serra Retamero was called over, the action was recounted and he confirmed this was indeed technically a call, much to Tatar’s disgust.
Forced to call, he tabled J-9 to Lappin’s pocket nines, and went on to win the pot when he hit a jack!
Apparently, this stroke of luck did little to lift Tatar’s mood – he was so upset by the ruling. “Don’t talk to me!” he barked as Gerrard defended his ruling to him.
EDIT: We received a fuller account of the hand from David Lappin himself. Just to clarify the situation, we’ve made a few corrections to the above account. Lappin had the following to say regarding the hand.
“As it was a controversial hand and there was a lot going on, I’d like to suggest the following corrections. Hope that’s ok.
The action was on the Cut-Off who was tanking, Mr Tatar was on button and as he put out chips (1 X 25k chip and 3 X 5k chips in a slightly stringy way), he said ‘call, it’s a call’. Yes he was probably talking about the earlier hand but his action to put chips across the line out of turn and uttering that phrase made the Cut Off react to him and ultimately fold. I asked for a ruling and the ruling was a correct one in my opinion, the TD’s opinion and at least two of the players at the table who audibly agreed with the ruling). As it was a quite bizarre situation though, had the ruling gone the other way, I would have appreciated TD discretion being used. As he protested and got increasingly angry, I tried to pacify the situation and said ‘Sir, maybe you will win the hand’, which of course he did. I also think it’s worth pointing out that we shook hands after the hand concluded.”
Thanks David, hope that’s cleared up the action somewhat!